The MozFest Timeline

Here’s a brief overview of the CFP and selection process:


October 2021

Blog posts and special ask-me-anythings (AMAs) on the MozFest community Slack will help you understand the festival’s unique participatory, accessible, and inclusive vibe and prepare you to compose a successful session proposal ahead of the CFP. Visit the #mozfest-ama channel to participate!

MozFest’s community organizers, the Wranglers, will share invitations to special community calls where you can give input into the different Spaces, or themes, at this year’s festival.

You can join one of these CFP support community calls to learn more about MozFest and how to propose a participatory, accessible, and inclusive session for it.

  • Call 1 - Thursday, 14 October 2021, at 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 1 PM BST / 2 PM CEST / 5:30 PM IST
  • Call 2 - Thursday, 14 October 2021, at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST / 9:30 PM IST
  • Call 3 - Tuesday, 19 October 2021, at 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 1 PM BST / 2 PM CEST / 5:30 PM
  • Call 4 - Tuesday, 19 October 2021, at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 8 PM BST / 9 PM CEST / 00:30 PM IST (next day)
  • Call 5 - Thursday, 21 October 2021, at 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 1 PM BST / 2 PM CEST / 5:30 PM IST
  • Call 6 - Thursday, 21 October 2021, at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST / 9:30 PM IST
  • Call 7 - Wednesday, 27 October 2021, at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST / 6 PM CEST / 9:30 PM IST
  • Call 8 - Wednesday, 27 October 2021, at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM BST / 10 PM CEST / 1:30 AM IST (next day)
  • Call 9 - Thursday, 4 November 2021, at  5 AM PT / 8 AM ET / 12 PM GMT / 1 PM CET / 5:30 PM IST
  • Call 10 - Thursday, 4 November, 2021 at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 7 PM GMT / 8 PM CET / 00:30 PM IST (next day)

You can also sign up for 1:1 coaching with MozFest Facilitator coach Chad Sansing for help with your proposal.


November - December 2021

The CFP closes on 5 November 2021.

Our Wranglers review the proposals for each space and begin making their selections and notifications for MozFest 2022.


January 2022

Wranglers send out any necessary final notifications to Facilitators, and Facilitator training begins.


February 2022

Trainings and 1:1 coaching sessions continue.


March 2022

Facilitator All-Hands and other support sessions happen just ahead of MozFest.

Virtual MozFest kicks off on 7 March 2022 and ends on 10 March 2022.

An on-the-ground MozFest event is currently planned for 25 March 2022 through 27 March 2022.