Parable Path: A Conversation

Watch live here or register for tickets to take part in Mozilla Hubs on May 17th 2022 - 18:00 UTC (14:00 ET / 20:00 CET / 23:30 IST)

Register now to take part in Mozilla Hubs

MozFest embarked on a collaboration with composer and librettist, Toshi Reagon. This year, the collaboration will come to fruition through festival activations, musical experiences, conversations, and post-festival events taking place in the Parable Path virtual world – all inspired by Octavia E. Butler’s Parable of the Sower - An Opera

Parable of the Sower tells the story of change, of seeding new worlds and developing systems to mitigate the loss of freedom people face when technology, policy, and economies are consolidated and weaponized. Artists, creators, and readers all over the world reference Butler’s work as a way to make sense of present technologies, and as a map to imagine a future world. It has become an activist’s tool to organize, educate, collaborate, and envision new ways to build technologies. 

This upcoming event is part of this collaboration: composer and librettist, Toshi Reagon, will be in conversation with writer and activist, Adrienne Maree Brown, both stewards of “Parable of the Sower” by Octavia E. Butler, as they discuss its influence on their artistic practice.